Best Ever Beef Stew

I have never been able to find a recipe for stew that I liked….until now.

This IS the Best Ever Beef Stew!
Make a batch of cornbread (yes I did!) and you have a meal.
Best of all you can cook it in the crock pot all day.

Notes:

I did not have nor did I want to make my own beef demi-glaze and I wasn’t going to go searching for flavor boost so I just substituted powdered beef bullion
I used whole baby carrots
I cut the red potatoes into quarters instead of cubes

This is a keeper.

Best Ever Beef Stew

Ingredients

2 lbs. Beef Stew Meat
1/2 c. Flour
1 Tbl. Seasoning Salt
2 Tbl. Olive Oil
1/2 Tsp Black Pepper
1 large Onion, diced
2 Bay Leaves
1/4 c. Worcestershire Sauce
2 c. Water
2 heaping Tsp. of Beef Demi-Glaze or Swanson Beef Flavor Boost
4 medium to large Red Potatoes, diced
3 large Carrots, peeled and diced
1 stalk Celery, diced

Directions

Shake stew meat in a plastic ziplock bag with the flour and seasoning salt until evenly coated.
Heat olive oil in skillet and add meat cooking just to brown on all sides. Remove to crockpot and season with pepper.
Saute the onion in the same skillet for 2 min.-Do not clean out the skillet first, you want all of the flavor!
Add the onions to the crockpot.
Pour the Worcestershire Sauce, water and beef demiglaze (or whatever you are using) into the skillet whisking it all together. Turn off heat.
Add the potatoes, carrots, celery and bay leaves to the crockpot.
Pour the broth over everything.
Cover and cook on low for 8 hrs.
Remove bay leaves before serving.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment