Mexican Manicotti

As I was making this last night for dinner…..I quickly became skeptical.

I had never used green taco sauce before or uncooked manicotti noodles (I’ve always cooked then stuffed them). I was afraid they wouldn’t cook enough to be soft.

As I lifted the foil off the casserole dish after cooking it was even worse.

It Just Didn’t Look Appetizing

I added the cheese to melt and we proceeded to eat it.

And I was Pleasantly Surprised!

Even though, to me, this dish does not have eye appeal it got a thumbs up from the rest of the family (and I WILL admit it WAS good!).

So this is on my ‘keeper’ list.

Note:
I used a long handled metal spoon to help stuff the uncooked manicotti
I topped mine off with sour cream and avocado (yum!)

Mexican Manicotti

Ingredients

1 lb lean ground turkey
16 ounces fat free refried beans
1.5 ounce pkg taco seasoning mix
14 to 16 manicotti shells uncooked
12 ounce bottle green taco sauce
1 cup Mexican grated cheese

Directions

Brown ground turkey and drain. Mix cooked ground turkey with beans and taco seasoning.
Stuff mixture into uncooked shells.
Lay stuffed shells into a 9X13 pan.
Mix the green taco sauce with about 3/4 bottle of water. (Use the bottle the sauce came in.)
Pour sauce over manicotti, cover with foil, and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.
Remove from heat and sprinkle with cheese.
Put back in oven until cheese is melted without the foil this time.
Garnish with green onions, olives, tomatoes, and cut lettuce.

Enjoy

Rebecca

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

