Slow Cooker Sour Cream Salsa Chicken

This was awesome!!
Easy, cheap and makes ALOT.

Notes:
I did in fact use only two chicken breasts that it calls for. Normally I will add extra but I took a chance and didn’t this time. I’m glad I didn’t. It made a lot!
When the chicken is done there will be a lot of liquid in the crock pot. I debated whether to remove some of it and decided not to. I’m glad I didn’t!
I didn’t add the grated cheese as I didn’t want it to melt. We instead put the cheese on the taco/burrito after the fact.
This is good in a tortilla, with tortilla chips, over shredded lettuce or hell….just eat it as it is!!!

Slow Cooker Sour Cream Salsa Chicken

Ingredients

2 Chicken Breasts
1 16 ounce of Jar Salsa (I used Old El Paso Mild)
1 Taco Seasoning packet
………..
16 ounces sour cream (about 2 cups)
3 cups cooked rice (can be freshly steamed, or cold leftovers)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 15 ounce can drained and rinsed black beans
Tortillas for serving

Directions

Spray slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray
Put half the salsa in your slow cooker. Place chicken breasts onto salsa, sprinkle taco seasoning on top of chicken. Pour rest of salsa on top of chicken and seasonings.
Note- do not add other ingredients until cooking time is over
Cook on low for 8 hours.
Add sour cream, rice, cheese, and black beans to slow cooker, give it all a big stir.
Serve in warmed tortillas

Enjoy!

Rebecca

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

