Recipe Of The Week: Apple Cake

This week we are highlighting…apples…
So last night I decided I was going to post my mother-in-law’s Fresh Apple Cake recipe…
Only….
I couldn’t remember where the recipe was….
Or even…
What it was printed on…
(that happens sometimes).

You see….
I’m a recipe hoarder….have been for years.
I had (past tense) subscribed to several recipe magazines (I’ve since kept some and given the rest away) in addition to purchasing several cookbooks…I still have my Better Crocker cookbook that we received when we got married way back in….1980.

I also print out recipes that I find online as well as make copies out of books I get at the local library and have them ‘filed’ in a notebook. Most of the time when I want a specific recipe I can picture in my mind what it looks like (recipe card, magazine page, newspaper cutout, printed copy) but ocassionally my mind goes blank and therein lies the problem.

I can’t find the recipe!
So that’s when in May I found and purchased the recipe organizer Big Oven so I could enter my recipes as I use them and I could find them with ease.

But….
I have not made this recipe for quite some time so I had trouble picturing what the recipe was printed on. After going through both my Betty Crocker cookbook and my recipe notebook I tried the recipe card holder…..and found it!

I’m certain once hubs see’s that I’m blogging about it he will want to switch from his apple pies to apple cake!

So without further ado here is the recipe:

Fresh Apple Cake

4 c. Apples, peeled & diced
2 c. Sugar
Mix the sugar into the apples and let sit while you do the rest.

Add Together:
2 c. Flour
2 tsp. Baking Soda
1 1/2 tsp. Cinnamon
1 tsp. Salt

Beat Into The Above:
2 Eggs
3/4 c. Oil
1 tsp. Vanilla

Add the apple/sugar mixture into the cake ‘batter’. Batter will be lumpy-ish, not smooth like regular cake mix.

Stir In:
1 c. Nuts

Pour into a 9×13″ baking dish and bake at 300 for 45-50 minutes.

Icing:
2 c. Powdered Sugar
Milk
Mix enough milk into powdered sugar to make it soupy-like.
Once the cake is done baking pour icing over the top while it is still warm.

Now I don’t have any pictures of the above cake but I DO have pictures of my Better Crocker cookbook and my recipe notebook!

Better Crocker Cookbook Cira 1980

Better Crocker Cookbook Cira 1980

Recipe Notebook...er...Mess - Cira 1980 - Ongoing

Recipe Notebook…er…Mess – Cira 1980 – Ongoing

Rebecca

Rebecca

One thought on “Recipe Of The Week: Apple Cake

  1. Pingback: Fall Is Unofficially Here | It Is What It Is

Leave a Reply

